Excerpts from With Eyes Unclouded
The Abiders Urban Achiever Podcast
The Orphan Wisdom Apprenticeship Program
0:00
-1:23:12

The Orphan Wisdom Apprenticeship Program

“Oh my love, be not afraid. We are so lightly here. It is in love we are made, in love we disappear.”

-Leonard Cohen


Over the past few months I've alluded to attending a farming apprenticeship in the Ottawa Valley on the farm of author Stephen Jenkinson.

In the last week of July, holding over into August, I did exactly that.  I went into this with very little knowledge of what was to become of me, both logistically (the work to be done left to obscurity), as well as psychologically.  I, though not the only one I'm sure, was looking for answers.  I was looking to be "troubled aloud" by the rattlings of some well-placed questions.  I believe that I was lucky enough to be given nothing of what I wanted but much of what was needed.  The days were long and the nights were filled with laughter, tears, and questions that survived any answers meant to slay them.  Stephen was a wonderful teacher and mentor.  He did not make attempt to become our friends, for a good teacher isn't always kind, isn't always looking for your best interest, isn't there to fulfill your every whim and wish.  Instead, he told stories about plans wrecked, troubled times, and a world in which people could take claim to the humanity that is begging for it. 

We built fences, shaved sheep, learned poetry, sang as a group, laughed and cried together to name a few.

I met some wonderful people during my time on the farm, people who I will forever hold close to my heart.  And though we may never see one another again, I am forever moved by their presence, by their grace under serious pressure.  Many of these people are mentioned in the podcast, but to those who weren't and anyone I missed, know that the stories we shared mean the world to me.  The vulnerability, hard work and discipline, and courageous mercy to learn along side me stands as examples which could be atoned to.

Los amo a todo.

--- This episode is sponsored by · Anchor: The easiest way to make a podcast. https://anchor.fm/app --- Send in a voice message: https://anchor.fm/abiders-urban-achiever/message Support this podcast: https://anchor.fm/abiders-urban-achiever/support

0 Comments
Excerpts from With Eyes Unclouded
The Abiders Urban Achiever Podcast
A consideration into our relationship with "self" and "other." The deeper dive explores these relationships as they translate into divinity, time, behavior, and the accord with the natural world as it breaks under the language of "other" and "separate."
Support this podcast: <a href="https://anchor.fm/abiders-urban-achiever/support" rel="payment">https://anchor.fm/abiders-urban-achiever/support</a>